Archived I don't know what I'm doing.

Status
Not open for further replies.

antivibe

Salesfloor TL
I've been a softlines team lead for close to a month now, but I still don't feel fully comfortable in my role.
My training was actually great, considering how Target trainings usually go. I'm by no means an expert, but I feel confident handling most tasks. I actually work alongside another softlines TL and she is great. However, I feel like our workload is very uneven. She takes on most of the workload and I end up feeling useless. Most stores that have more than 1 TL in the softlines department usually split up the department, so that one TL has one chunk of softlines and the other has the rest. My STL is completely against this and wants us both to take responsibility in all areas.

Anyway, during this first month I've focused on getting to know my team and looking at the department's issues. This is what I have seen so far, but I'm not sure how to tackle some of these. I don't want to be the type of person to make a ton of changes as soon as I step into my new role. I'm an internal promoted TL, so I still feel a bit self-conscious with this.
  • No one is auditing the VA.
  • VA team is not being held accountable at all: leaving behind unfinished POGs, VAs, signing, and leaving fixture/trash carts all over the place.
  • We have an excessive amount of clearance tables, instead of it being hung. This makes zoning even more challenging.
  • No one is flexing and we have a ton of empty tables, quads, and convertibles.
Some of these have very easy fixes, but my partner TL doesn't agree and defends some of these issues. I was having a discussion with a TM who left all these fixtures and trash behind. I was letting her know how it was unacceptable and how we should take ten minutes to clean up, blah and so on. Then my partner TL approaches and tells me how there is no time for them to do this. :eek: