Lost of electronic key

I had been working in the store for 10+ years, and tonight I was schedule in toys hardline. I was passed on the key to cover electric for the closing shift. After I help two guests around 920pm, I went back to toys and resume my take down job. When I about to wrap up my work at
930pm, I just notice the key is not in my pocket. I report to AP immidiately for review. He found out I accidentally left key on elections counter, and 5 min later, a guest just took it and ran out of store. What would happen next to the store and my position? How should I talk when I am going to call for the coach?

Last edited:
I had been working in the store for 10+ years, and tonight I was schedule in toys hardline. I was passed on the key to cover electric for the closing shift. After I help two guests around 920pm, I went back to toys and resume my take down job. When I about to wrap up my work at
930pm, I just notice the key is not in my pocket. I report to AP immidiately for review. He found out I accidentally left key on elections counter, and 5 min later, a guest just took it and ran out of store. What would happen next to the store and my position? How should I talk when I am going to call for the coach?
I doubt you get fired unless you've had disciplinary actions within the last couple of years but I would expect you to get a write-up. They have to rekey all the electronics cases now which is a huge pain and a significant cost

Did you leave the actual key? Or just the s3 magnetic key.

If you left just the magnetic key, you'll probably get a talking to and they'll go about their day.

If you left the entire set of keys, they will have to re-core every lock in the building that was associated with that set of keys. Which isn't particularly difficult, but it is expensive (takes about 2 hours). In this case I'd expect to get a final written.

The person who passed you the keys will also likely get written up if they didn't sign them out to you.