Archived new GSA looking for advice

Status
Not open for further replies.
hey everyone! I am still fairly new to my position as GSA. My training was fairly non existent but I have the hang of most things. I am struggling keeping my team motivated and consistent with red cards. I have been challenged to create an action plan as to how I am going to improve my actions to help drive red cards at our store. Any advice is welcomed. If anyone can suggest things that work at their stores. Please and thank you in advance

I don't honestly think GSA's can do all that much to drive redcards. You need a team that asks every guest every time. But you're not allowed to discipline the cashiers for not doing so. GSTL at least has more options since they can hypothetically performance out the underperforming cashiers so they can be replaced with people who will do their job correctly.

GSA's though? You're just asked to make sure something gets done but aren't actually given the necessary tools to ensure that it does.

Some stores give out rewards for getting redcards, which works, but it shouldn't be necessary. People should do the job they're being paid to do without getting extra incentives when they do so. No other position in the store gets constant rewards for doing their job, so IMO cashiers shouldn't get constant rewards while no on else does.

What you can do to reward cashiers is also more up to upper-tier store leadership (namely ETL-HR and STL) than it is to a GSA. You can do what they let you do, but requisitions seem to vary a lot store to store in regards to what is deemed acceptable vs. what isn't deemed acceptable. My store used to give out giftcards for redcards on a fairly regular basis, but the STL put a stop to that about 6 months ago now.