Archived Overscheduled & outside availability (Just a rant in the end)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello! So I am a college student + sales floor TM. I started school this week actually. I saw my online schedule recently, and I am way over scheduled then I would like. I submitted my School Availability to them in July and was approved. They've been following it for the last two weeks now, which is good. Now to the problem, I said I wanted 16 hours as the maximum number hours worked in a week. I noted I was flexible given a couple hour over it if they really needed it. So my situation is that they've given me 25 hours in total next week. Almost all of my shifts are closing which, hello? I am in school. I need that time to study, and so I put a few nights to leave early. This leads to on a particular day my availability is 3PM - 9PM. But instead they have me working 3:15PM - 11pm. I thought it would have been reasonable to have this one day of the week to leave at 9PM, but no. Plus, it's a cashier shift. I will admit that I dislike those shifts, which makes it that much more unpleasant to see on my schedule. So I did call my HR and I told her my situation. I told her how it makes an inconvenience in every way. A little note, I have had this problem with other retails and so I have a lower tolerance for it. School is first priority and I don't want Target to walk all over me. I told her that someone needs to at least take part of the shift. I said I would compromise with it, but I can't do all the work finding someone myself since this is not all my fault. I put my shift on the Swap Shift Board, but I am so pessimistic about it. I am pretty frustrated about it. Since the shift is next week, I will call this Friday to check in on it. I am just having some pretty vicious thoughts about it. Ive thought about walking out at 9PM that day or even calling in. Keep in mind, I am just speaking in the heat of the moment. Doesn't mean I will actually do it, but I am in