Archived Pharmacy job question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a part time Pharmacy Tech at Target and have been for a few years. Due to not having enough hours, can I also work at another retail pharmacy like CVS or Walgreens?

Spot (and whatever other pharmacy you are considering) would consider that a conflict of interest, which is a big no no.

I believe I've heard of a handful of people who have done this (with CVS/walgreens/walmart as their initial employer)... Bring it up to a pharmacist you know won't go gossiping around--preferably one who has been with target for a while-- and see what he/she thinks, then go from there.
But do note that if your state requires you to be registered with the board of pharmacy and to update your employment as well, there would be no way to be secretive about this, as your second employer would see spot attached to your registration, and if spot looked at your registration for any reason they would be able to see the second employer as well.

Our hours are horrible right now and we just got an email saying they're going to suck more (as in 10 hrs/tech)...I feel your pain

That's insane, 10 hours per tech? Have your script counts gone down the drain or something?
Well we've been averaging about 15-20 hours/tech, so it's not a terrible decrease overall. Yeah they've gone down a little bit, but so have most of the stores in our district. From what we've gathered it's not really anything our store in particular is doing wrong (besides the fact that until a few months ago we didn't have a steady pharmacist) -- mail order and better prices, mostly. Apparently they're cutting most of our area's hours until they figure something out.

Usually working at another retail pharmacy is frowned upon, but working at a hospital or compounding pharmacy isn't a problem. I know some stores also let techs pick up shifts as cashiers or in any other departments they're cross-trained in, if that's an option (ours does).