Archived Advice for a new PA.

Status
Not open for further replies.

SweatyShirts

Backroom, Cashier, Hardlines, Instocks, TL Wannabe
So last week I spoke to my ETL-Logistics as well as the Consumables TL, ETL-Salesfloor and even my STL about moving to Market team as a PA as the next step in my development into a TL and they all signed off on that move, my replacement for backroom has already been hired and is being trained.

But I have little actual (read: none) experience in a leadership role and I'm here mostly just looking for some advice on how to be a good leader. Particularly on good methods of inspiring generally lazy and unmotivated TMs to not be so lazy and unmotivated. Since that's one of the main problems of our Market team at the moment.

I get that, on some level, people are going to be who they are and that coaching, corrective actions and performancing people out is gonna be more or less necessary but I'd like to figure some of the tools I can use to get results without having to rely on my TLs to use coaching or corrective actions to fix some of the performance issues.

So I'd absolutely appreciate some advice on how to do that, or even just general/unrelated advice on what I should expect to have to deal with as a TL since that's the ultimate goal of my becoming a PA.