Archived APL

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone! Feel free to move this if it’s in the wrong place, but I was hoping there were some current APL/APTL’s (or anyone with the knowledge) on here who could help me out.

I’m currently a police officer and have been for a couple of years. Prior to that I did AP for Target and two other companies, as a TPS and then plainclothes for a contract company and another large store. I’m looking to move back to the AP world at least for the time being, for a variety of reason. I just got married and we have a child on the way, and the irregular schedule I have to work as a cop is making it super difficult to plan things out. On top of that, I live in an area where law enforcement doesn’t exactly make a lot of money. Overall, I just don’t feel like my current job is right for me at the moment. Maybe in a few years I’ll look at going back to it, but I digress.

I had my first two interviews for an Asset Protection Lead position at a small Target in the same jurisdiction I’m now a police officer in. I have one more interview (I believe with the DTL) but it looks good for me to get a job offer. My ultimate goal is to go ETL-AP, but I’m tired of waiting for one of those slots to come open in my area and went for APL. Anyways, I know TM’s start at $13 an hour now, does anyone know what I can try to get (realistically) coming into an APL role with three years of AP experience, three more years of law enforcement, and a Criminal Justice bachelors? I’d like to know what I can try to negotiate for before I go into this.

Also if anyone has any general info about the APL job that they’d like to share, anything encouraging me to go for it or pass it up, I’d appreciate it. This would be a pretty big career change for me to switch out of law enforcement, so I’d like to be as educated as possible.

I would highly advise against coming back to Target. Ive been here since 2014, and things have changed a lot.