Archived Being Scheduled Outside of Availability

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I was scheduled on a day outside of my availability, and I had to call out because no one took my shift (I put it up on the swap-shift board 2 weeks in advance). I was given a talking-to by the LOD on the phone because "my availability needs to work for both me and Target" but I'm a student. What do they want from me? I have other things going on besides work. How am I supposed to be responsible for a shift on a day that was I wasn't supposed to be working anyway?

This is not the first time this has happened, but the first time it happened it was taken care of and there were no issues. Not sure what to think of this situation. I guess the next time it happens I'll make a bigger deal about it. I'm just annoyed that I was made to feel that it's my fault that I can't dedicate my entire time to Target. We just hired a ton of new people so I'm sure they found someone to cover my shift anyway.

Oops I meant to put this in the General Target Chat forum. Can this be moved or deleted? Thanks.

Not your fault. Just make sure that you notify them of THEIR mistake as soon as the schedule comes out.

Spot does schedule outside of availability, and tries to make it seem like it's the TMs fault and the TM should fix the problem. Let them fix it, and the scheduler will learning to not to do that!

Last edited by a moderator:
I think this is as good a place for this as any.

You need to go to the HR-TL and have a talk.
As a student you have a strong case and you can even bring in your class schedule.
Make it clear your schedule is hard and fast, not something they can play with.
The next time they schedule you outside of your availability don't try to cover it.
Instead go straight to the HR-TL and tell them to fix it.
It's not your job to cover it if they scheduled you wrong.
By going along with it these times they are assuming you are willing to be flexible, don't let that continue.