Do you have "trainers" at your store?

DBZ

We have a few. One is a horrible trainer. I hear him telling new advocates that when someone comes with a huge cart full that they can slow down and take their time. He also just tells the advocates to have the guests click "no thanks". It makes me crazy. The other two are great and I would have picked them as well.

It brings me to wonder what it takes to be considered a "trainer". I'm using quotes because these few are actually labeled as such.

I'm a trainer. I took the "train the trainer" training and everything. But I do not have a nametag that says I'm a trainer (thank god). That was a week or so ago, but I've had people assigned to me to train since a couple months after I started at Spot. The training itself was a bit of a joke, because it seems to think that we find out days ahead of time that a) we'll be training someone and b) who that person is and c) that we'll get their resume or some shit so we can adapt our training based on the person's skills and experience.

In reality, we're told when we arrive that we'll be training someone that night. Things have gotten a bit more structured with the introduction of the "4 shift" modules that put some structure, maybe, around what they should be learning each shift, but most of the time we're told how many training shifts they've had and roughly what we should be working on with them that night, but we're mostly left to sort of figure it out and try to figure out what they need to at least be shown that shift.

At my store, trainers are basically people that have been around for a bit. Sometimes just a little bit. We only have 2 TLs in GM, and they pretty much never work nights, so if the newbie is one who works nights, it's just sort of up to us to figure it out.