Archived Electronics - Driving Sales / High AAR

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello -

I am new to target and retail in general and I came into a store, as a senior team lead, where the electronics department is consistently listed as a bottom 3 department due to low sales which makes AAR a challenge. I should also note that the team morale across the store is very low and the existing electronic team members were all reviewed by another team lead as inconsistently effective. My ETL approached me as she came into work and immediately told me that our sales have been horrible, which I was already aware of. I have only been at this store for a little more than a week and her comment makes it seem like they wanted outstanding results by now. This department has been without a leader since Christmas and the department looks to have been severely neglected in terms of cleanliness, the number of outs all over, and some items being spider wrapped while higher priced items not having any spider wrap at all - just to name a few issues.

Our store layout is the "old school" since we're not a PFresh store and our electronics is located to the far left of the store, not in the back, like most stores. I am also responsible for leading A, B, C, D and pets. My ETL then asked what I had for ideas of turning things around - so I gave her my ideas about electronics, but she then said what about A, B, C and D? I want to focus on electronics first and was wondering... -

- How do you push for higher AAR? I always try to sell controllers, hdmi cords, etc.
- How do you push for higher sales in general?

Our store deals with many call ins per day so sometimes our electronic team members need to wander all over the store and are not always readily available to assist guests in electronics due to call buttons, zoning, etc.

Welcome to The Break Room.

Like Hardlinesmaster said, my understanding is that AAR isn't a major metric anymore.

Making recommendations can be fairly easy.