Archived Guest Service: Drug Addict Returns

Status
Not open for further replies.

xxTheDudexx

Front of Store Attendant
Does anybody else get that person that I do that waits until 5 minutes before closing to return 20 items all on different receipts paid for by cash that are clearly messed up on some form of drug? Mine usually takes the first 5 or 10 minutes just to get her receipts in order. I feel sorry for her in a way because I know she must be battling addiction and i know it's a disease (family member is aa member). Feel even worse for her kids. I just wish she'd come in an hour earlier. No guess as to what she is on. It's like she's drunk. She has slurred speech, is shaky, takes 10 years to realize what would otherwise be obvious in pairing her receipts with her returns... I'm no drug expert, any ideas? When I first started as seasonal cashier last year she also had an overflowing cart worth of merch that ultimately went reshop because her check didn't clear. Also conveniently 10 mins before closing. Hard lines got the brunt of that one. lol. Now that I'm at guest service I see her much more than I did as cashier. Always just before closing, always 100 items on different receipts, and always the same clueless face when we tell her sorry, the store is closed, we can't do anything more for you tonight because she waits until the last minute. Anybody else deal with guests like these?

Most likely gotten them out of the trash and then stole the merchandise from the floor. Sadly happens all the time... Also get the people who steal merchandise and then do a no receipt return on their license.

I think her sister used to come to our store 10 min before closing to return clothing w/o tags, no receipt, exceeded NRR limit so she goes out to "shop" for an exchange from the same dept (since that's her only option) after closing.
Until she ran into our ETL-SL one night & was run out quite literally on a rail.
Seriously wished I'd printed tickets for THAT fight....