Archived Hello everyone!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eshana

TM/Food Ave
So I had my interview this past Friday, and they sent me right away for my urine test. It's now Wednesday, which is the 3rd business day, so I'm hoping I get the call either later today or tomorrow!

A bit about me: I graduated from university last year with a BS, and I was having a bit of trouble finding a job in the new town my husband and I moved to. I'm starting out working for the cafe area but my HR told me that I'd be training for other areas of the store as well. I'm really excited to start working for Target, as it seems like a really great company compared to others in the area!

For those of you that started out in my position, how quickly were you promoted? I was told that promotions are "merit based" and not necessarily contingent on time spent working for the company.

Anyway, keeping my fingers crossed for that call!

Last edited:
Greetings and salutations.

Let's just say that 'merit based' is code for 'do you have decent bosses?'.
No two stores are the same.

The first guy that interviewed me was super nice, and the HR woman seemed really nice, too.

Would I look like too much of a brown noser if I brought a notebook and pen to my first day to take notes?

I always took notes, it's the best way to remember.
When I was signing it was the only way to keep track of everything.

If you have your BS you could have applied for an ETL or TL position right away.
I've seen a couple of promotions at my store, usually it's younger folks who move to TL. So I would say it's merit based.

You're going to be working in food, so maybe you can take notes on a notepad or index card. I don't think you need a full sized notebook.
This forum also has a lot of useful guides that you can read!

Welcome and good luck

If you have your BS you could have applied for an ETL or TL position right away.