Archived Help me be less Target-ignorant!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill of All Trades

hang on, I've got a blinker
Hopefully you guys can help me out a little with this.

I'm a GSA, and before that I was a cashier and guest service TM. My background before Target is in the hospitality industry. I know front end inside and out, but since I have zero retail background, I am a little hazy on the inner workings of the store. I've read all the acronyms but they don't all make sense to me. Sometimes I feel like I'm not asking the right people the right questions when I'm talking to sales floor and back room.

What I need is a basic description (with acronyms) of how product flows through the store, and a brief job description for non-front-end positions.

Can you help a sister out?

Hmm... you're asking the motherload. Too bad I only have ten minutes left on my lunch break. The wiki is quite useful though... (link on top of this page)

Here's how product moves around, more or less. At least how it goes at my store:
1) 3-4 times a week a GM (general merchandise) truck comes early in the morning. Flow team unloads truck and sorts some of it to go out on the floor and get pushed, while some of it goes straight to the backroom to be backstocked. There's also a food truck that handles the fresh and perishable stuff. And the vendors (Nabisco, Kellogg, beer and wine, etc) that come in a few times a week and do their thing.
2) Instocks goes around checking item counts. Sometimes they just move product around between its multiple locations, e.g. school supplies from stationary to "back to school" in seasonal. Sometimes they have the backroom pull more product from the backroom and either instocks or salesfloor pushes that to where it needs to go.