Archived Hire From Within?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Whelp, first-time poster. So I am a seasonal worker that was asked to stay on. Even though I have only 60 days under my belt, does Target interview newer team members for TL and ETL positions? I have a lot of retail management experience both private and corporate and I am wondering if it's worth my time to apply now or wait for a time period from the point that I was hired from.

Honestly, I'd probably wait at least a year. Yes, you have experience but it's experience at other places and I think they'd want to actually witness your work ethic first. Especially since you're someone coming from the outside. Based on my many years of being at Target and just from what I've seen, I can assure you that they will not consider newer team members for advancement opportunities. You have to give it time in order to prove yourself. They're very selective about the people they chose. Best of luck! I'm trying to move up in the company myself. :)

Whelp, first-time poster. So I am a seasonal worker that was asked to stay on. Even though I have only 60 days under my belt, does Target interview newer team members for TL and ETL positions? I have a lot of retail management experience both private and corporate and I am wondering if it's worth my time to apply now or wait for a time period from the point that I was hired from.

It doesn't hurt to bring it up to your STL but I've seen people with a butt load of experience have to wait to prove they are Target Brand. Then again some people pass without needing additional time. Look at what you have accomplished in your previous management experience and how it relates to Target

One person at my store went from seasonal TM to regular TM to TL in less than a year. A very highly qualified person who had the support of the ETL and TLs in the workcenter, and did an exceptional job every step of the way. Rapid promotion is (was) possible, but it is very, very rare.