Archived How hard is it to go from GSA to GSTL?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So basically when I was hired as GSA, I was told that it's like a transitionary role for becoming a TL. Now I haven't been with the company very long, but Ive got a few concerns. One is that I feel like several of the the SrTLs and ETLs are being especially critical of me. Is this because they have high expectations so that I can be prepared to promote or do they just enjoy nitpicking me? I know I'm not perfect, but I feel generally like I'm doing a good job. Second ive noticed there are a lot more GSAs than there are GSTLs and I know the ones in my store have been in role well over a year. Of course ive gotten the impression that they may not want to promote, but I have a few years of supervisor experience under my belt despite being in my late 20s. I do NOT want to sit on this role of being the lower payed GSTL when the very few things they do in addition (reviews, coachings, and paperwork) is something ive already done elsewhere.

Think of the GSA position as the Thunderdome of the store.
The odds of you getting out without a chainsaw to the crotch is kinda slim.

Thunderdome of the store? Huh?

So do they basically just like finding people for that role and keeping them there? That doesn't work for me, I'm a promote or walk type person.

If they are nitpicking you, that is a bad sign. That means they have no interest in developing you at this point. If you walk on water, are doing status walks, having weekly meetings to talk about your God like status, etc, then you are on your way to promotion.

The GSAs are likely where they are either because they don't want to promote (and the thought of having to care even more about Redcards makes them want to vomit) or they are also being nit picked to death and will never be promoted.