Price Scanner Question..

ach5063

Former Super x-trained TM
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
88
Hey.. REALLY stupid question here but remember i come from a super old store. I was in a newer store the other day, and their price scanners had buttons on the side- Whats the point of those?
 

commiecorvus

Former Signing Ninja
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
16,816
At our store you can use one to pick the option of manually putting in the dpci.
The scanner also gives more information then the old ones did including if there is more product in the back which handy when you don't have a gun and the customer is doing the "why don't you go check?" thing.
That's the only function we have so far, there are supposed to be more that other stores have.
 
Last edited:

buliSBI

Former Team Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2011
Messages
3,243
The current line of scanners (with the keypad) will let quests punch in a DPCI. It will tell guests the current price of an item. It will show the planogram location and tell you if there is a backroom location.
 

ach5063

Former Super x-trained TM
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
88
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
Yeah i saw all that, and i WANT them at my store, i was just curious about the reason for the buttons.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
28,106
When you have no PDA, type dpci in & helps the guests better. I had the old ones before & they gave no good info.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2011
Messages
98
Haha those scanners suck. A lot of our buttons are pushed in so deep its either broken or we need a pen to press on it.
 

mrknownothing

purveyor of things
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
10,151
I've been wondering about those buttons myself. Not that I would ever use them, being a cashier........maybe once I get trained in HL.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
396
Hey.. REALLY stupid question here but remember i come from a super old store. I was in a newer store the other day, and their price scanners had buttons on the side- Whats the point of those?
I've been in numerous other Targets and I think about all of them have those newer scanners. We still have the super old ones. These don't even give the salesfloor/BR locations. Dare I ask how old your store is? Ours opened in '89 if memory serves me correctly.
 

ach5063

Former Super x-trained TM
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
88
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #12
I've been in numerous other Targets and I think about all of them have those newer scanners. We still have the super old ones. These don't even give the salesfloor/BR locations. Dare I ask how old your store is? Ours opened in '89 if memory serves me correctly.
Idk; i'll have to check.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
76
the really really new ones show whats on ad like a small tv...also tells you if its on target.com
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
28
we had the "google" ones for a while, touch screens where you could type in what you were looking for. sadly, spot took them away
 

ach5063

Former Super x-trained TM
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
88
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #15
I've been in numerous other Targets and I think about all of them have those newer scanners. We still have the super old ones. These don't even give the salesfloor/BR locations. Dare I ask how old your store is? Ours opened in '89 if memory serves me correctly.
How would i find this out? lol
 
Top