Archived Prospective ETL: should I send letters of recommendation to recruiter?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm in the initial stages of interviewing for an ETL position. I have 4 years (non-management) retail experience, but I'm coming from a first year teaching position at a private IB diploma school. I love the job, and they've offered me a new contract... but my wife is pregnant and teaching history doesn't pay the bills, nor does it provide much opportunity for growth of any kind.

Several of my administrators have offered to write letters of recommendation/ performance reviews for me as I search for a higher paying job this summer. Should I pass these along to the recruiter who I have been dealing with?

Look online for the questions they ask during the interview. They are STAR questions so being prepared with answers may have greater weight than recommendations. Also learn the lingo - guests, leadership not customers and management. Do some research on Target initiatives, current focuses, community involvement, and ask questions if they say "do you have questions?"

Make the interview more of a dialog and a casual conversation. Remember, a large percentage of ETLs are young, inexperienced, attractive, and bubbly. If you have leadership experience talk about it. Talk about the situation, your action, and the impact it had (STAR).

Letters of recommendation won't hurt.

My questions:

what degree do you have that you want to throw it away on retail management? Hopefully business or underwater basket weaving.

How's your current insurance? My wife and I specifically didn't get pregnant on Target insurance because it was $500 a month and a pregnancy was $8000 out of pocket. My previous insurance was free (military) and my current employer insurance covers pregnancy. Not all experience this with Target- this was just the coverage in my area.