Archived Reasoning behind some pay difference

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatguyattarget

SFS/OPU Master
I can understand the reasoning of the pay grades.... but, I don't understand the wage difference behind sales floor and electronics. I mean, you shouldn't have that job if you don't know crap about electronic. The job wasn't open when I applied, so the point is moot. I'm a tech guru and I can easily school anyone in this field. I've been eating and breathing technology since I was born. I just don't understand the wage difference. I mean (I'm HL) and I feel like HL does a lot more work, but electronics just stands most of the time and holds a key to stuff. I would love to be electronics but I don't want my hours to be cut. I'm only in my fourth day (post-orientation) and I see most of the electronics TM standing there while I bust my ass zoning and pushing pulls and helping guests and they earn 50-75 cents more than me. I don't know what my store's availability is for electronics is but so far, for my first time on the schedule on 24/7 available, I have 34 hours. I'm happy about that.

If I ever want cross-training, who would I talk to? My TL (HL), ETL (HL), or ETL (HR)? I would be elated if I ever got a shift in Electronics because I would bust a move. But, does that mean I get a pay increase or differential for that shift?

Your etl. I know the store first & be stellar.

Okay.. Great, I first have to MEET her. LOL.

It's funny how I know the ETL-GE and ETL-HR well but not my own ETL(HL)--I've never met her.

Also... should I pass the 90-day probation first?