Archived Silly Newbie Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Flarkeydoodlepoo

Oops!! I thought I was retired!!
;)Hi Everyone!
First let me say I am so glad I stumbled across "The Breakroom!" I have learned more about Target from all of you than I have in training and my first few weeks working there.
So...I am a newbie cashier. I started the last couple of days of the pay period about a month ago. I had a 2 hour orientation on a Wednesday where we completed a document indicating how many hours we were there. I worked 5 hours on my first day which was Friday - 2 hours of which were computer training and the rest was on a checkout lane. I punched in and out on the timeclock on my training day. I assumed I was going to be paid for those 7 hours but did not receive a check. Today I was given my first check which indicated that I had been previously paid for those 7 hours according to the YTD totals. No one seemed to know anything about it and couldn't answer my questions. So, before I go to personnel to inquire, I wanted to ask you guys..."Do we get paid for orientation and training?"
I signed up for direct deposit which will hopefully eliminate the need to physically search for my paycheck. Anyone else have similar issues?

Thanks!:)

Orientation and training is still technically working, so yes you do get paid :)

First check is typically a hard check and if it was cut and somehow not routed properly to your store HR def needs to know. Easy way to find out is to check your paystubs online. If there was one missing then you would have the check number to provide to HR. Welcome to Spot and to The Break Room!

Thank you "Amanda" and "Leo. "West," I checked online but it said my payroll information had not been downloaded yet. I will talk to HR and see what may have happened. It was probably an oversight. Thank you to everyone for your info, suggestions and help. You guys are great and make the newbies feel very welcome here.

Today I was given my first check