Store tie application

Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
86
#1
Anyone get a chance to use it yet? I was able to use it on two end caps in mmb that had POG dates of June 2011. They were light as heck and keeping them stocked was a hassle. I really like it!
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2011
Messages
286
#3
Excuse my ignorance, but HUH? What is the "store tie" application?

It's where you can tie individual DPCIs to endcaps (and maybe aisles?). That's all I know.

Can you tie it to endcaps that already have a POG tied there? Do you have to make up a schematic/ facings/ capacities?
 

Electronics Man

Electronics Team Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
335
#4
It's where you can tie individual DPCIs to endcaps (and maybe aisles?). That's all I know.

Can you tie it to endcaps that already have a POG tied there? Do you have to make up a schematic/ facings/ capacities?
REALLY now? That would be awesome! I can't tell you how many times I have wanted to do that...
 
OP
OP
I
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
86
#5
It is only for end caps and side caps as it will only let you type in 0 or 99 for the locations. It also only asks for capacities no schematics or facings. It won't let you do it to current tied POGs, you would have to untie the POG first. I was able to use it because the two end caps had POGs back from June and had nothing tied to them.

You go into the application. You type in an aisle like, say, A32. Then you type in 0 or 99 and scan the items one by one being added. After each scan it asks for the capacity, once entered you touch "tie" and the item is tied to that end cap. When you scan it in item search it shows up "A32 (0) Str Tie."

It really is a neat feature. I haven't seen if it pops up on Instocks task list though, if it does that, then it really would be great.
 
Last edited:

Electronics Man

Electronics Team Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2011
Messages
335
#6
GTC to you itsthefiveofus...

Yeah that does sound like a usefull feature. How do you get to it exactly? RF APPS? I'll have to remember to use this next time we have an empty endcap, although in electronics we usually have a Planogram tied to almost all the endcaps except our Discontinued stuff.
 
OP
OP
I
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
86
#7
Thanks! You get to the application under all applicatons. First scroll down I believe. One of my ETLs said it was a new appplication added to the new software release and that our system updated the previous night. So I'm sure you got it, or will.
 

walruses

Former Softlines TL
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
205
#8
Haven't used it yet! They mentioned the rollout awhile ago but haven't heard anything since early Jan.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
92
#10
Wow, Had no idea this could finially be done. Great way to minimize the scorched earth that a free standind endcap has. Where did you find this function at?
 
OP
OP
I
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
86
#11
You can re scan the item and then type in 0 for the capacity then hit update tie. You can also just tie a new POG to the end cap as well. When you sign in and hit "My Work" hit All Applications and just scroll down to it. The square is purple and it says STR Tie in white letters on it.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
25,297
#12
You can re scan the item and then type in 0 for the capacity then hit update tie. You can also just tie a new POG to the end cap as well. When you sign in and hit "My Work" hit All Applications and just scroll down to it. The square is purple and it says STR Tie in white letters on it.
Gtc to five!
I will ck that feature out.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
1,339
#13
That is great!! I could have used that app when I was flexing in games this week. Now, what is procedure for breaking the tie? That is where the problem would arise..
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
143
#14
Can't wait to go back in on Sunday and try this. I just flexed a bunch of Valentines day videos on my kids Valentines day book endcap. It would be great to see them get replenished by tying them to the endcap!:)
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
92
#15
Store tie function not available in my store till winter rollout for software Feb 29. Interesting start but not all it could be. You can only use it on endcaps and sidecaps that do not have another POG tied to it. So basically its letting you account for free standing endcaps which is good for nop zoners, signing apps, in stocks not zeroing unlocated bulk etc. Wont help you prop up a weak salesplanner or add nop merchandise to a pog to try and sell it at full price before it goes clearance. There is a training card printable for the program on workbench by just looking up store tie application if you want all the details
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
53
#16
This in theory is an excellent idea, and to be honest I have always wished we had this. However with everyone running around tieing product I can only see it ending in tears. Curious people that have tried it yet. Have you noticed any knock on effects with over pulling or screwing up the accumulator? and conformation if they pop up in instocks tasks?
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
25,297
#20
This in theory is an excellent idea, and to be honest I have always wished we had this. However with everyone running around tieing product I can only see it ending in tears. Curious people that have tried it yet. Have you noticed any knock on effects with over pulling or screwing up the accumulator? and conformation if they pop up in instocks tasks?
No data on that yet. I think it will move certain dept faster. Like paper & others.
 
OP
OP
I
Joined
Sep 11, 2011
Messages
86
#21
Store tied end caps do appear on the Instocks Task List, so happy about that. Our Instocks TL was ecstatic when she saw that the end caps came up on the task list. The only end caps that I know are store tied are just three over in mmb. I am not sure if there are any other ones, though won't be surprised if there are. Though, management hasn't really been telling anyone about the application. I think it is to avoid people messing with end caps all over the place.
 

Rock Lobster

Executive Team Leader
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
1,387
#22
Store tied end caps do appear on the Instocks Task List, so happy about that. Our Instocks TL was ecstatic when she saw that the end caps came up on the task list. The only end caps that I know are store tied are just three over in mmb. I am not sure if there are any other ones, though won't be surprised if there are. Though, management hasn't really been telling anyone about the application. I think it is to avoid people messing with end caps all over the place.
Its a great idea, but I fear the same thing for my store... There are certain leaders who have been around a long time, and I know they will just fake tie the real SPs and make their own "better" ones...
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
53
#23
Its a great idea, but I fear the same thing for my store... There are certain leaders who have been around a long time, and I know they will just fake tie the real SPs and make their own "better" ones...
Yeah I read the update notes this morning, and I have to agree in the wrong hands it is just going to be a pain. (I can just see them screwing up the accumulator now)
But to be honest at my store the lazy SF-TL's don't even own there own PTM aisles let alone give them something else to do, So i'm not overly concerned.

But I have to say as BR/IS-TL I am super excited. Having tied discontinued endcaps should make it easier for pricing to find there product also which has always been a challenge at my store.
 

Rock Lobster

Executive Team Leader
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
1,387
#24
Yeah I read the update notes this morning, and I have to agree in the wrong hands it is just going to be a pain. (I can just see them screwing up the accumulator now)
But to be honest at my store the lazy SF-TL's don't even own there own PTM aisles let alone give them something else to do, So i'm not overly concerned.

But I have to say as BR/IS-TL I am super excited. Having tied discontinued endcaps should make it easier for pricing to find there product also which has always been a challenge at my store.
Definitely I can see it being an awesome tool in driving accuracy in almost every process... Instocks, Pricing, Flow etc will all benefit if this tool is used in the right ways! However, I can see a SFTL having an empty endcap and if they are in furniture they could either A) Look for a SP that is due and set it or B) If the endcap that is due is something hard to set (ie frames in furniture) they could just fake tie that SP somewhere (getting it off the report) and instead force tie some ottomans or something... I am very happy for this tool and it will be an awesome roll out that is long overdue, just some SFTLs (at least in my store) will assume they know better and just make a SPs their own way :)
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
53
#25
Definitely I can see it being an awesome tool in driving accuracy in almost every process... Instocks, Pricing, Flow etc will all benefit if this tool is used in the right ways! However, I can see a SFTL having an empty endcap and if they are in furniture they could either A) Look for a SP that is due and set it or B) If the endcap that is due is something hard to set (ie frames in furniture) they could just fake tie that SP somewhere (getting it off the report) and instead force tie some ottomans or something... I am very happy for this tool and it will be an awesome roll out that is long overdue, just some SFTLs (at least in my store) will assume they know better and just make a SPs their own way :)
Lol yeah, that's the trouble with my store. People are always trying to re-invent the system to their benefit.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
92
#27
Just got store tie this week and test drove it today. Nice audit function built into it. Ties show up in item search almost immediately but not in nop so far. If anyone out there has had access to it for a couple of months can you verify whether it impacted replenishment on tied items if left tied for longer than 4 weeks. This seems like the nightmare scenario, getting replen on stuff you were trying to get rid of because your store is light on product to fill endcaps with salesplanners in the first place. Other than that its pretty sweet so far. Ties do not show up on the sales floor tie report, just the store tie report.
 

StaticSun

Former Front-End Guru
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
1,934
#28
I used it this week, too. Pretty nifty, and the rest of my team is equally as excited!
 

arloiscool

Electronics Specialist
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
17
#29
We have been keeping a log of d-code video games that have been flexed in, and before I left on Friday I went ahead and store tied all of the d-code stuff inline to section 99, since we have no sidecaps on the video game browser aisles. Hopefully this makes things easier not only for the electronics team, but for pricing when its markdown time.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2011
Messages
1,399
#30
As excited as I am about the use of this function for instocks, electronics and GSTL's I am scared to death about what happens when SuzySalesfloor can't figure out where to put the reshop and Bazinga! It's tied to some random endcap. I would like to see the use of this function limited as much as EXF is.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2011
Messages
670
#31
We have been keeping a log of d-code video games that have been flexed in, and before I left on Friday I went ahead and store tied all of the d-code stuff inline to section 99, since we have no sidecaps on the video game browser aisles. Hopefully this makes things easier not only for the electronics team, but for pricing when its markdown time.
How would this be beneficial to anyone? Yes, they'll be located but if your tieing them to a sidecap, it would still be a hunt when it comes time to find them (since their tied to a location that doesn't exist). Maybe i'm missing something. But I don't see how it would help.
 

StaticSun

Former Front-End Guru
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
1,934
#32
How would this be beneficial to anyone? Yes, they'll be located but if your tieing them to a sidecap, it would still be a hunt when it comes time to find them (since their tied to a location that doesn't exist). Maybe i'm missing something. But I don't see how it would help.
When location 1-4-3 is out of stock of "Madden 2012" per say, he'll just flex it with a d-code item. As long as the list you're keeping is up to date, it'll be extremely easy for pricing to locate the item, as it's side to this sidecap. Once they know it's on the floor, they can partner with the elecTM and look at the log to see where everything is.
 

Rock Lobster

Executive Team Leader
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
1,387
#33
When location 1-4-3 is out of stock of "Madden 2012" per say, he'll just flex it with a d-code item. As long as the list you're keeping is up to date, it'll be extremely easy for pricing to locate the item, as it's side to this sidecap. Once they know it's on the floor, they can partner with the elecTM and look at the log to see where everything is.
Won't it still tell pricing where the item is? So in the example of say there being an empty spot in aisle H19 (1) 1-4-3... If you flex a dcoded game into that spot you could tie it to H19 (99) 1-4-3 and then pricing just needs to know that the (99) is basically the same as (1) just store made?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2011
Messages
670
#34
Won't it still tell pricing where the item is? So in the example of say there being an empty spot in aisle H19 (1) 1-4-3... If you flex a dcoded game into that spot you could tie it to H19 (99) 1-4-3 and then pricing just needs to know that the (99) is basically the same as (1) just store made?
Can't put schematic numbers no 1-4-3 or 1-p1-23. Just location number (end caps or sidecaps) and then enter capacities.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2011
Messages
670
#35
When location 1-4-3 is out of stock of "Madden 2012" per say, he'll just flex it with a d-code item. As long as the list you're keeping is up to date, it'll be extremely easy for pricing to locate the item, as it's side to this sidecap. Once they know it's on the floor, they can partner with the elecTM and look at the log to see where everything is.
You'll still need to keep a list..... Therfore tieing it doesn't really do anything.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
162
#36
This sucks, the "store-tied" location only shows up in item search, and not in nop under RF Apps. Flow and Backroom TMs aren't going to fill the tied location, as they usually only push stuff using nop.
 

arloiscool

Electronics Specialist
Joined
Jul 24, 2011
Messages
17
#37
When location 1-4-3 is out of stock of "Madden 2012" per say, he'll just flex it with a d-code item. As long as the list you're keeping is up to date, it'll be extremely easy for pricing to locate the item, as it's side to this sidecap. Once they know it's on the floor, they can partner with the elecTM and look at the log to see where everything is.
We only flex out d-code video games over labels for NCF/d-code that is no longer in stock. Even though there is no place for a schematic, it is a big help for pricing to know exactly what has been flexed in, and to have it indicated on the PDA, especially if our PA TL is not doing electronics that day.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
53
#38
I too am curious about the impact on replenishment.

Also being as you can not do a New POG fill, does it assume that when you set the capacity that the endcap is 100% full, just curious as to how this is going to affect the sales accumulator.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2011
Messages
184
#39
This sucks, the "store-tied" location only shows up in item search, and not in nop under RF Apps. Flow and Backroom TMs aren't going to fill the tied location, as they usually only push stuff using nop.
not sure how it's gonna work for us, going to try it next week. As for tm's not filling end caps, I have 1 flow tm that is always pushing market so I just let her know what I'm doing and she keeps an eye on it for me. Plus, I always try to give a head's up at huddles to all tm's to check the endcaps first. Mine only do a major change like once a month so it's not too bad. Part of my daily routine is to check my end caps and if they need filling, I get either a br tm or one of the leads to pull the product for me.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
92
#46
Was discussing alternative uses for the store tie application with an ETL. Our store has a hard time keeping gatorade in stock, but we cannot convince anyone above us to increase our OTL/shelf capacity to maintain better instocks. The idea occured to us that if we set a store tie location with it and increased shelf capacities this way that theoretically if the sales supported it our replenishment could be based on the new capacity we added using store tie. Can anyone advise on the logistical validity of doing this?
 

Rock Lobster

Executive Team Leader
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
1,387
#48
Was discussing alternative uses for the store tie application with an ETL. Our store has a hard time keeping gatorade in stock, but we cannot convince anyone above us to increase our OTL/shelf capacity to maintain better instocks. The idea occured to us that if we set a store tie location with it and increased shelf capacities this way that theoretically if the sales supported it our replenishment could be based on the new capacity we added using store tie. Can anyone advise on the logistical validity of doing this?
Hmm that is a good question... I bet it could effect the OTL and presentation minimums and make it so you guys would receive more and keep more OH at one time (theoretically at least)... I guess the question would be, does the DC have enough of the product to be able to use store tie in this manner? The DC doesn't just sit on an infinite amount of product, and they have an inventory based off of sales (and upcoming ad product) as well... so if something is on an upcoming endcap/ad rotation, Target knows EVERY store will be setting that and get extra product into their DC... If its a store tie, I wonder if there would ever be inventory to support this? That is assuming store tie can effect the accumulator in that way in the first place?
 

StaticSun

Former Front-End Guru
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
Jun 12, 2011
Messages
1,934
#49
If the purpose of Store Tie was designed to get excess BR merch onto the floor via endcaps, then I doubt it will affect OTL counts.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2011
Messages
92
#50
The initial rollout for how to use the application actually warns you about leaving ties for longer than 30 days, but does not get to specific about why. I am guessing the basis of that is the generation of more sales and an increased capacity could justify increased replenishment if left in place long enough.
 
Top