Archived Underperforming TMs

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi everyone, I really need some advice on how to handle this. I'm a newly promoted TL for the same workcenter that I worked as a TM. I'm having trouble adjusting to my new role as the TL of the people that at once were my peers. There are many opportunities that I need to address both performance and operational wise but I don't want to go in flaunting authority. I'm not that kind of person, I'd rather work along side them and help them grow but I have one particular TM that is always late, clocks in and steps out to talk on the phone and who is always cursing even in front of guests. What do I have the power to do? I already spoke to this person and told them why I need them to stop doing those things especially with cursing in front of the guests but it has not stopped. Any help please?

Take a look at the guidelines for coaching. If you are unfamiliar with it, talk with your HR. Make sure that TM knows that if they receive repeated coaching and warnings with no improvement, that kind of behavior can lead to termination.

It might not be easy for you, since you're a new TL and and aren't used to thinking of your team as subordinates, and you seem averse to confrontation, but as a TL you are responsible for getting your TM to stop being late, stop talking on the phone on the clock, and start being brand around guests.

So, it sounds like you need to sit down with them and have a documented coaching. Partner with both your ETL and the ETL-HR. Sorry, but you can only be so nice. They have to be held accountable for their continuous lack of performance. It's not fair to the rest of the team. As long as you are professional and Target Brand about it, you have your butt covered. It sucks to feel like the bad guy, but the rest of the team will respect you for holding their peers accountable.