Archived Unpaid vacation limits..?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello!
I'm new to the Target team. I just had my orientation yesterday and training will be in the next two weeks. I'm excited to begin but I have a big issue on my hands. I go overseas at least once per year for around a month. I'm taking a trip to Argentina and Brazil for 3 weeks in late December to January. My issue isn't being paid for vacation. I am more than happy to take it unpaid, but whether I will still have a job waiting for me when I return. I'm leaving Christmas Day and am planning on working as much as I manage as a college student during BTS, Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. I want to work here long term(2 years) and don't want to lose my job. Please don't judge my situation as I didn't want to ask HR as I'm so new and it would be unprofessional. Plus it's so far away(around 5 months) that there may be a slight chance I may not be able to go. Before I buy my plane tickets, I want to make sure I won't be losing my job. Do you know if it's possible I can be terminated for taking a 3 week (unpaid)vacation? What is Target's policy on this? Thank you!!!

You will have to take leave of absence & turn it in early. Also, talk to your hr & etl to give them the heads up.
Welcome!

The vacation length will be fine. Will you be able to get that time off though? Possibly not - blackout period runs from Thanksgiving until early January. Better talk to your hr now though, they can help out if you give them enough time ahead of the date you'll be leaving.

The vacation length will be fine. Will you be able to get that time off though? Possibly not - blackout period runs from Thanksgiving until early January. Better talk to your hr now though, they can help out if you give them enough time ahead of the date you'll be leaving.

If its after Christmas it should be fine for the most part, but would have to ask HR