Archived Any positive ETL stories

Status
Not open for further replies.
Fixing to start training as a ETL-LOG and have read nothing but negatives about ETLs from previous and present ETLs, TLs and TMs. I have 10 years experience in Multi Unit Operations Management for a 24hr food chain franchise and couldn't be worse than that.

In my experience, the ETLs can make or break morale for an entire store. I have had a few ETLs that I was sad to see go because they were motivated, didn't feed you bullshit and seemed to care about the TMs as much as the bottom line. Motivation is the key. I've seen ETLs just coast by doing the bare minimum and leave all the work for the next day. Here's an example, on one of the days I open at the Service Desk I completely dread going in in because I know all my bins will be packed full, there will be 15 sorted reshop carts and no one scheduled to work said carts.

OTOH, I work with some very good ETLs and SrTLs that are involved, they'll help, listen to issues or suggestions and make the day just that much more pleasant.

I'm going through the interview process now for an ETL position. I'm sure I'll be put into Log as well if offered and I accept. I'm an ops manager currently for Wallyworld.

The ETL LOG at my old store was older than all the STLs and what I consider to be one of the good ones.
He ate with his team, he worked side by side them, he would move like crazy to set the example and knew everybody's name.
He also fought for his team to make sure they got the hours they needed and even a separate huddle so his team wouldn't get sucked into the regular store huddle.
He didn't speak Spanish but was sensitive to the people where it was a second language and if he had complicated instruction would get someone to translate.
Since people would whine about the flow team eating all the food, he got them separate breakfast food.