Archived Becoming an ETL

Status
Not open for further replies.

iCashier

Cashier
Just a quick question. I am interested in becoming an ETL (obviously not anytime soon). I am currently a university student, graduating next fall or spring. I'm also currently a cashier for Target right now. I know that one of the requirements is to have a 4 year college degree and I will have one but it is in a concentration that is not related to business or human resources. I also don't have any managerial experience (that can change...). What are my chances? How should I go about doing this for the long term?

Target doesnt really care what your four year degree is in as long as you have one. Some districts are taking work experience in liu of a degree.

Your chances are good, talk to your ETL HR or an ETL at your store and let them know your plan. They can kind of prepare you for the road ahead. We have some college TMs they are clearly grooming for leadership.

Our district no longer requires a degree and I think it's supposed to be company wide but we all know how that works.

My district had no desire to internally promote TM's with a degree to ETL's . Believe me, I asked. So definitely check in with your leadership right away.

Yeah, the four-year degree requirement was lifted this past July. It's now a four-year degree "or equivalent experience" (retail management experience). However, if your HRBP didn't agree with the change there's no reason they can't just interview selectively.

But! Even if you have a degree, climbing the ladder internally can be quite arduous. Generally they'll promote you to TL, then you'll wait 18 months and then interview for SrTL, then another 18 months before interviewing for ETL. It can be done quicker (I did it in two years) but it can also take even longer.