Archived Being AP friendly

Status
Not open for further replies.

LilMissVO

I'm not bad. I just sound that way...
So, even though I'm not technically part of my store's AP team, I try to do what I can to help them keep track of frauders and thieves to the best of my ability. I saw on another post that some team members use code phrases to communicate with their AP team without alerting the "guest" that they're on to them.

That got me curious if there are set phrases that AP like to use or if they differ from store to store, team to team.

Without giving out sensitive AP tactics, are there preferred methods to commuicating and helping to keep a step ahead of scammers?

Set phrases not really.

However since most AP people are trained at the same store in my district the terminology we all use is pretty common. That could be a district to district thing though.

As for preferred method of communication the best advice I can give is learn who your AP team is and their names. We like our people to call us just by name and not even mention AP over the walkie. Also don't broadcast what the situation is over channel 1. Go to a different channel first.

My district has preestablished "AP phrases"

Zone assist-Sketchy person
Register skim-Scammer/needs assistance at register
Damaged fixture-Immediate assistance required at whatever location for a potentially escalated situation

As On6 said, just call AP by their names, unless your store insists on doing things differently. My store is also super anal on internal theft now (TPS required to spend 1 hour per day looking at register footage) because we had a big problem with that, so cashiers are not allowed to K5-K1 essentially at all, and the only reason I manage to get away with it is I play nice for the cameras and clear my hands ala poker dealer (instructions given from the TPS)just to put a big bill under the drawer.