Archived Can't be at my shift on Christmas eve.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I was scheduled 3-11:30 pm on Christmas eve. Weeks before, i put it online that i can't work that day because i have obligations at my church that i'm not allowed to miss all night that night.I got scheduled anyway and also got overscheduled 20 hours over my 20 hour availability(which they keep doing). I am a college student and am ready to quit because they will not stop overscheduling me and when i talk to them, they don't fix it. Anyway, i wrote my ETL a note and put it in her mailbox about how there is no way i can be there on christmas eve, which my mom told me to do. Am i supposed to approach her or like call in that day? I've been here for four months and have never called in except once when my cat died. What am i supposed to do? Im so stressed about all of this. My mom said to wait for her to approach me since i already reached out to her via a letter.

P.S. I wrote her a letter because we rarely work the same shifts so i never see her.

I already tried to ask the people who were opening and no one would take it.

Don't ask someone who's opening...nobody wants to work a double like that lol. Ask people who miraculously got off or who are hurting for hours. If it comes down to it, just call out. It is 100% on them for not respecting your availability (since you said you've made it clear before).

The thing is it said accepted one day online then now that i check it after, it says denied. And no i asked them to switch with me because i can open i just can't close that day.

Post it on the swap board. Let HR know that you can work that AM if they can get you off the other shift.
If someone is desperate for hrs or has a last-minute change of plans, they might pick it up.
If your ETL doesn't get back to you, call out. It won't look good but you did what you could.

Ah okay thank you so much. I'm just so nervous about it, not sure why. Thank you!