Archived Carry Out tips?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello I am new to the BR, I am a cart attendant and have been for the past two months and I usually enjoy in on the non busy days because my co workers are pretty cool, even the higher ups. I was wondering if you were aloud to take tips if someone offers you it because on several occasions I have done carry outs and they offer tips, I just respectfully decline because I didn't know the rule about it, would anyone even know if you did accept it? Or is just better not to if you aren't supposed to.

Nope! No tips. Usually regardless of where you work, cart attendants aren't permitted to take tips. That was my first job at a grocery store, and I only took a tip once. It was from an elderly asian couple, and they didn't have the best english, so I couldn't explain that I wasn't even allowed to take a tip. They wouldn't take "no" for an answer, so I ended up having to take it. But otherwise, I had to strictly deny all tips.

Keep respectfully declining.
There's cameras in the parking lot, too.
If they insist, ask them to give you a nice word on the survey & let them know that goes a long way toward making your day.

Yeah, no tips. If the person forces it into your hand, as has happened to me before, at a previous job (no, really. He forced his hand into my pocket and deposited two $20's. I felt violated, tbh), I believe that you can take it, but I'm not entirely sure. Ask a team lead or etl to be sure.

It happens a lot around Christmas. But we were told that if they won't take no for an answer then take it to guest services.

When I was younger and worked at a grocery store we were allowed to take tips.

But Target doesn't allow it. They don't allow most people to have hours either. But that's a different story. :rolleyes:

Just a bit of perspective: you are working a near minimum wage job and you're being told not to accept tips.