Archived ETL with no degree

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a couple Army (reserve)buddies still working on their degrees but have many years retail management experience and are looking for new careers. What is the policy now for people with tons of experience landing an ETL position with Target? I would assume they need to complete the degree before any promotion though.

In some ETL positions, they ask for "4 year degree or equivalent" - which if I remember right, equivlaent is experience. As well, for job postings that say a 4 year degree is required my STL told me last year it is possible to get a ETL position without a degree, but you'll need to blow them out of the water (he told that to me, I have no management experience). So it's worth a shot. Likely will at least get a interview since it's external. Depending on what year they are, they could become a ETL-intern or a executive intern if they are in there third year of college. Which also would be good.

Officially its 4 years management experience or a 4 year degree however our old Dtl required a 4 year degree even for senior TLs.

So while Target has loosened up and is accepting experience, it seems to be on a case by case basis whether they will choose you over someone with a degree.

It does seem to be very group driven how accepting they are of potential externals with no degree. Previously I had put off re-joining Target because the geographical markets interested despite my lack of a degree were not very appealing. While going through the interview process recently, the East Coast recruiting team (VA/NC market) did not seem interested in moving forward when they found out I did not have a bachelors, but in the Midwest they did not bad an eye at it, instead focusing on my 15yr retail experience.