Archived Greetings

Status
Not open for further replies.

GSAguy

GSA
Hi everyone,

I’ve been reading around the site for several months, since I was first hired and searching for things related to my new job. I’m definitly glad I did, because I think I may have learned just as much from here as I have from on the job training. Not bashing any of the people that had a hand in training me because they’ve all been great, but I have read so much here about working at Target that doesn’t relate to my specific workcenter.

I came to Target after a long career in the restaurant industry. I was a general manager making incredibly good money until my job started to stress me out more and more each day. I was your typical twenty something go-getter that wanted to prove that I could achieve anything. I never was as great at my job as I would have liked, but I definitly had several things to be proud of over the years. Then all of a sudden, hello 30. It was almost like a light switch in my brain was flipped to where I wanted no part of the job I was doing. Constant phone calls while not working, a boss that was always hovering over me and demanding answers for the most redicilous and minuscule issues, and a team that I had zero faith in ever being even slightly successful. I knew I needed a change, and Target was there exactly when I needed him.

Target doesn’t have a strong presence in the area I live. We have the one in the city I live in, one about 40 miles away, and all the others closest to us are 150+ miles away. Despite that, Target has always been my store of choice. The clientele has always been several notches above any other large retailer in the area, the store always appeared clean and bright, and shelves always neat and stocked. That’s what initially prompted me to look to Target for employment opportunities.