Archived How much control over your availability does your ETL actually have?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been havin issues with my scheduling even after discussing it with my team leader multiple times. I have 4days open but only want to be scheduled for 3. After 4 discussions in four different weeks I was still getting schedule 4 days. Today I approached my etl about the issue and said since we can't seem to get the 3 days correct id like to only be scheduled 2 days a week. His response is that I have to have Fri-Sunday open for scheduling. I told him okay that's fine but I only want to be scheduled two of those days. He then went off an told me that he doesn't work for me and that I work for him an that I should just put my two weeks in if I am havin so many issues.

So my question is does he really have that much control? There are multiple people in my store that work once or twice a week. I'm a full time college student too. Will HR be able to help me out or is it really just a lost cause?

You were hired based on your availability.
If you tell them you can work four days and they need you four days, expect to get scheduled four days.
It's different if you put down you're available seven days a week, of course you don't expect to get scheduled for a straight seven but trust me it does happen.
If you need to change it to three days go ahead.
Just don't expect much hours after that because there is a good chance they will have to hire someone to cover the shifts you can't take and they will take a lot of your hours.

Well I've worked for the store for 3 years and I've always been one of the best employees in the building. I graduate in December and hours don't really matter to me. It just seems ridiculous that someone can tell me when I can and can't work.

If I only want to be scheduled three days but absolutely have to have Fri-Sun open then I'm limited to those three days and that's a load of BS