Archived I've been on 'the bench' for a long time

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys, to make a long story short, I've been on the TL bench for over 8 months.

Is this normal?

I'm close to most of my leaders and they feed me the rumor mill to keep my spirit alive and the consensus seems to be a specific store wants me in their logistics role but they keep falling through with their commitments to term an ineffective leader (whom they've been trying to term for over a year). However, I believe they're so focused on me filling this one role they're ignoring all other opportunities for me.

The entire development process has taken an enormous amount of time for me. I was a sophomore when I first became serious about becoming a TL and now I'm about to graduate. When I was signed off by the DTL (for the second time), I had thought things would finally move quickly. However, here I am 8 months later. By the time I receive a position I'll be qualified to be an ETL.

Several times I've approached my STL and HR about some kind of additional compensation, as for awhile they had me doing TLOD 2-3 times a week and this 4th quarter I've been crowned the 3rd logistics TL. However, all my attempts have been met with a solid no.

I understand payroll is down for everyone but what I don't understand is how a high-performing employee whose been signed off as TL can't be thrown a couple extra bones in a fortune 500 company. This whole thing just feels so absurd.

Has anyone been in a similar position that might be able to offer any advice?

Tl Headcount & store size are suggested to check on.
^^ This... I can't stress that enough. Despite being signed off, passed interviews, if that title of TL is not next to your name on the daily grid, you're a (Captain) at best.. At least in regards to your current store and your current workcenter. I've seen, heard, many people "jaded" within Spot. Good luck!!