Archived New to Target/Electronics

Status
Not open for further replies.

mandie89

ElectronicsTM
Hello, everyone!

I was just hired on as a regular Electronics Associate and my orientation is tomorrow. I just had a few questions.

First, what should I expect at orientation aside from watching videos and filling out tax forms? Should I dress in Target attire or should I just go in with a nice pair of dress pants and shirt like I did for my interview?

Second, as someone who will be working in Electronics (which I've never done before, although I'm familiar with a lot of the products), what can I expect? As far as I know from going in as a customer, the store I'll be working at is typically slow, even during weekends. So, with low customer volume, what else should I be expected to do when there aren't any people to help? Is there a sales quota I'll need to meet every week/month? The woman who interviewed me said our job wouldn't be in jeopardy if we didn't meet the REDcard quota since our store doesn't need very many, but I'm not sure about Electronics.

Also, regarding hours, I know that part-time doesn't mean four hour shifts (it did when I had my first job but I was also in school at the time), but how long are the shifts normally? Or is it pretty much six to eight hours every day until you reach 30-35 weekly hours?

Okay well as far as orientation I went in my khaki and red shirt but that was three years ago.

Well the first thing you will be doing is reshop for the electronic department. Reshop is just a buggy with items that were returned or guests decided they didn't want... After reshop they might make you straighten up the aisles aka zone. Usually after I finsh all of that then I check for any pulls aka restock the shelves in the electronic stockroom . Then you just repeat the process until your shift is over. If you are lucky they might teach you how to set up endcaps aka salesplanners or do revisions just depends on your store.