Archived Personal Development Options?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all! Currently a TL at Target and wondering what types of options there are in terms of personal development? Either at store or HQ level. I am trying to figure out what I want to work towards in my time at Target. Thanks!

Last edited:
Don't count on a HQ position... Store to HQ career jumps are extremely rare! So much so that when I was an intern and someone asked about going from ETL to HQ the Group Manager (or whoever is the head of the group, I forgot) said that, "Well look at this way, we're developing you to a run a store. You will spend your time in the store. That training really doesn't translate to HQ jobs. Plus there is more career potential in the stores." So don't count on it. Does it happen? Yes, after years of being in an ETL-level role and you better be the cream of the crop.

As for your plan.. What do you want to learn more? Consider learning about TL positions, but express interest in Sr. TL/ETL (if you have a degree). Go on workbench and read the core roles for other TL positions and ETLs. Keep in mind that they look at leadership moves in 18 (sometimes shorter, if a high potential candidate or longer) month timeframes.

But also look at your end game? Do you want to be an ETL? STL? Have some kind of goal in your mind for the longterm and short-term goals as well... For example, maybe your long term goal is to be an STL but right now you want to learn more about logistics... So maybe you want to be a flow team leader, and want to develop to an ETL role. It's kinda vague, but will give your ETL the information she needs to help you develop!

Ive been at target for three years. I'm trying to move up. Ive been in consumables. I've worked in bakery, food avenue produce. Now I'm back in consumables. I'm trying to get the food assistant job. Will find out tomorrow