Archived Prospective ETL, questions about religious accommodations and grooming.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, this is my first post here.

I am currently pursuing an ETL position as a recent grad with retail and unrelated professional experience as a social studies teacher.

I've read the "before you sign your life away" thread and the job description sounds very similar to that of the EXA's at walgreens where I worked during undergrad. I'm aware that the job entails ridiculous hours and lots of stress... But my wife is pregnant and 30k per year at a private school with no paychecks during the summer just isn't going to pay the bills.

Anyway... after applying, I contacted a recruiter on LinkedIn and he got back with me to set up an initial phone interview. My resume is pretty solid, I have a lot of work experience, and I'm a confident person who generally does well in interviews. Obviously it's not garunteed, but I'm anticipating that I should at least land a few face to face interviews.

My question: I keep a fairly large yet neatly maintained beard for religious reasons... Is a beard likely to be a problem for me as I continue through the process?

If so, I'm wondering how to address the subject.

Also, I would need to make sure that I was able to have a part of the same day off each week to attend weekly religious service. And no, I can't skip it ever.

I need to know how I should mention this during the interview process in a way that won't make me undesirable.

Thoughts?

The beard I don't see even being an issue.
The day off might be an issue.
ETLs are supposed to available anytime.
I'm sure they would never say that was the reason that they overlooked you resume but it would be a primary reason.

Welcome! Spot is flexible on religious stuff, just tell them in advance. Beards are ok too. Let them know about Ramadan of fasting & prayers.

The beard I don't see even being an issue.
The day off might be an issue.