Stocking Question

I'm brand new to Target market and have been pushing dry grocery, produce and even frozen food. When I pull from the backroom very often (over half the time) it only asks for one of the item, and when I stock it there's only room for that one on the shelf. Isn't it a waste of time to have team members pulling one thing just so the shelves are 100 percent full? Is that the way it's done in all Target stores?

They're called one for ones. It appears to be an attempt at forcing the team to maintain accurate inventory counts to prevent excess product in the store. The store is fuller (we are up 20% to forecast since implementation) which also reduces time spent zoning. In the long run, more of your truck goes directly to the shelf as the system has accurate information.

Or, more concisely, it costs less to pay you to pull one of each out (with accurate counts) than it did to over order because inventory was off.

I'm brand new to Target market and have been pushing dry grocery, produce and even frozen food. When I pull from the backroom very often (over half the time) it only asks for one of the item, and when I stock it there's only room for that one on the shelf. Isn't it a waste of time to have team members pulling one thing just so the shelves are 100 percent full? Is that the way it's done in all Target stores?
When you pull does that batch say MANCAF or Auto. A MANCAF is likely a 1-1 batch which will pull with the intent to fill the floor to sales floor capacity. If it says auto it shouldn’t be filling 100% of the floor as autos only generate when your sales floor drops below 50% capacity

This is the way corporate wants us to restock the shelves with product from the BR.

And - yes and no - to being a waste of time.

Pros - cleans out the stockroom, helps fill the floor and helps zone.
Cons - shit ton of 1 for 1s in areas like Market and Chem. + shit ton of freight, pricing, tasks + not enough hours = can lead to a disaster.

Last edited: