Target on your resume & cover letter

Status
Not open for further replies.
Like many of you, I'm not planning on being a lifer at Target (the fact I have a Bachelor's Degree and I'm having to make $9.59 an hour is depressing).

What skills picked up at Target translate well for a resume? For example this is what I have on my resume for Target:

• Give guests fast, fun, and friendly service to ensure they have a great experience
  • Restock shelves and put away abandoned products to maintain a great looking store
  • Complete various tasks in the backroom under time limits with zero errors
  • Maintain a highly organized backroom by back stocking merchandise in its proper place

And my cover letter has this:

My communication and customer service skills are excellent. I give guests fast, fun, and friendly service at Target every day so they always leave with a smile.

Finally, my time management, organizational, and multi-tasking skills are excellent. I need to complete various tasks under time limits with constant interruptions and zero errors in the backroom at Target.

My degree is in Public Relations (which I deeply regret doing now). How can I make Target help me land my career job?

Your bullet points tell me exactly what I would think a retail employee did. Like the Dave Chappelle skit where he guesses what Michael Jackson's genitals looked like without ever seeing them. It's obvious you did the above.

Your bullet points and descriptions are basic. Time limits? Don't we all have time limits? A highly organized back room? Does highly make organized seem better?

I would focus on the impact you made rather than the physical tasks you did. For example - how did your highly organized backroom impact sales? Include metrics, numbers, etc. Make quality bullet points. Also, a resume should be directed towards the job you're looking for.