Archived TL Position Offered.. Not sure what to do

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay so I need some advice. Im new here and everything but anyways, I've only been at target for just under 3 month. I was in electronics all during seasonal, I got promoted to GSA in January and there is still so much I do not know yet but at the same time I have learned a decent amount. I'm just not comfortable at all. Then last week one of the ETLs pulled me aside and asked me if I was interested in becoming a TL and they told me I would be prepped for the interview and etc. I said yes but we haven't sat down yet.

So Im kinda overwhelmed with all this going on and Im also a student but I still want to do it. I never worked retail before and Im pretty surprised this is all happening so fast especially since I don't know the ins and outs of everything yet. So I just have 2 questions.

1. Should I say something about the pay raise for the GSA position?
2. What are good ways to prepare myself to become a TL if the time does come soon?

What is there to say about the pay raise for GSA? It's 50 cents over base pay. A TL would be a few more dollars.

If you like a challenge and have a drive to do more go for it the company needs you.

If your ETL just offered you the position that's good that means you have their buyin and they think you are able to do the job.

Don't be nervous about the experience or workload just learn from your mistakes and improve. If you miss a goal or metric find a way to improve it or come up with a plan to.

TL is a lot of baby sitting your TMs are what make you successful so you have to learn how to manage talent. Recognize the play makers and manage the ones that need help. If you can't get your team on track it will be an uphill battle.