Vacation days on Thanksgiving and Black Friday

So my orientation is this Friday (3 days). In my interview they asked if I could work Black Friday and/or Thanksgiving, I said yes because I was under the impression I had no other plans but I just found out my parents scheduled a vacation for us on Thanksgiving (a few days) and another in December. It's still 3 days before orientation so I'm going to call them ASAP to let them know and pray it's ok. I'm a high school/college student and I really had no idea my parents planned this. Do you think they will let me go because of this? I understand Black Friday and Thanksgiving are major work days that I signed up for but I am still going to be there for work 3 weeks into orientation so I'm not leaving before a good amount of training. Is there anything I can do to make it up like extra shifts or something?

UPDATE—- okay so my parents ended up cancelling the whole trip because I made a big deal out of missing work, cost them a $200 so they were definitely not happy 😂 needless to say I’m going to be in attendance for Black Friday and thanksgiving but I’m still going to need a week off on december for another vacation but it shouldn’t be as big of a problem since it’s after training and before Christmas. I personally dislike family vacations, I would actually rather be at work making money than discussing politics at the dinner table if you know what I mean. I think Target’s policies on this vary because at my orientation this girl said she needed an entire month off after her first day and my store director was like “okay no prob we’ll just adjust the schedule”. I think it might be because my store is in SUPER high demand for seasonal employees and most are teens.

Last edited:
There are a jillion applicants ahead of you. Anything on your application that throws a red flag will hurt you for dang sure. Limited availability during that week will frig you UP.

Last edited: