Archived Allergic Reaction

Status
Not open for further replies.
I dont know if its just me or something that happens on occasion. When I started on flow team I would wear short sleeve shirts and would notice as I got home that my arms would get rashes and hives. I put witch hazel on them and took a shower and would start to clear up until I went to work again when same thing would happen. So I switched to long sleeves and the problem stopped for the most part except now in the summertime I get heat rashes from the long sleeves being damp all shift. This happen anyone else and if so, any other ideas. I assume its something in the cardboard boxes or glue thats doing it.

Could be but I worked in the trucking industry for 30 years and never had this kind of issue , only if I touched something without gloves or a spill happened.

I would itch a lot when I was on the truck. When I left the truck it stopped. So it’s something with the trucks. I felt like it was cardboard for me.

Do you work with Towels, Softlines or other Cloth items? If so its because of the Chemicals they're sprayed with and my suggestions is either asking to not touch them, Or wear Gloves. I've had several Co-Workers who have had to be reassigned due to an Allergy to the Chemical sprayed on our Towels.

I push all of it, HBA,Chem,Pets,Toys. All of it has cardboard and glue boxes. Thats what I figure to common thing is. I dont get like sneezing spells or watery eyes or anything so it must be a contact issue.

The glue in the corrugate is just starch, usually corn (my daytime job is analyzing boxes and other packaging). If you have plant or wood allergies, you could definitely be reacting to the boxes themselves, depending on your specific allergies and the composition of the fiber. Or as suggested, you could be reacting to the merchandise.