Archived Can STL search purses without cause?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been working at Target for nearly 10 years, and this has never happened in our store before. We recently got a new STL and he has been searching the purses of the closing team members before he lets them out of the building.

It hasn't happened to me yet, but everyone in my department is wondering if this is allowed.

They can if they search everyone who is going out.
We had the AP TL do that one time and he searched the bags of everyone going out one day.

I worked at a Big Box Bookstore where they did it every time you left the store, every time.

They can if they search everyone who is going out.
We had the AP TL do that one time and he searched the bags of everyone going out one day.

I worked at a Big Box Bookstore where they did it every time you left the store, every time.
Wal-Mart's are notorious for this. Every bag, every purchase must have a receipt.

I'm used to showing receipts, but we've never had someone paw through everyone's handbags before. I don't remember seeing this in the employee handbook, but the one I had was pretty old.

Not in California they can't. State law, only law enforcement is allowed to search belongings without permission. (And only then with probable cause; and lockers don't count)

Did this change in the last three years?

Can California employers lawfully search contents of employee person, including but not limited to clothing, bags/purses/packs/letters/vehicles for any reason as long as the search is conducted on company property, to include the parking lot?

A: First, there is a huge difference between government and private employers where this issue is concerned. Government is restricted by the U.S. Constitution, 4th Amendment prohibition on unreasonable search and seizure -- whereas private employers are not restricted. I will assume a private employer here.