Archived Hours of Availability

Status
Not open for further replies.

slegab21

Self Checkout Junkie
Some background: I'm a month into my job as a Cashier - the first two weeks I was on the learning plan and only worked 4 hours shifts, with a total of 16 hrs per week. Then, for the past two weeks I've worked 40 hour weeks - with usually 8 hour shifts. When I was hired I checked part time, and wrote my preference as approx. 25 hours per week but when asked if I would be available up to 40 - I said yes (assuming it would be during holidays or weeks with low availability. In other words, an occasional "if needed" thing - not an every single week thing). I'm a sophomore in college taking 4 classes and holding a TA position. This doesn't take up too much actual, scheduled time during the week - I have a lot of "open" hours on my availability - but I cannot continue to have this many of them filled. I've been falling behind in all other obligations. BUT...

Q1: I read somewhere on here that it's looked down on for team members in their first 90 days to minimize their availability, as a big reason people are hired is because of their hours available. Is this universally the case? Or does it depend on the store, etc?

Q2: If possible - how do I permanently change my hours weekly availability? When I was looking at the MyTime Self Service it said that it was only effective for the selected weeks. And it only goes up to 5 weeks - so do I have to go in every month or so and key in the hour availability? Am I misunderstanding that?

Q3: One of my co-workers said I could change my daily hours available to be less - but I still want to be given the 25 or 30 hours, and I don't want to minimize the options for scheduling... and I can definitely go back up to 40 during the holidays if needed. What's the best way to change this?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts!!

All I can say is "good luck."