How do you make overhead announcements via your zebra?

Joined
Nov 23, 2016
Messages
142
Our store has always had a team member run back to TSC to make the overhead announcement, and I just heard that there was a way to do so over the zebra, but we could not figure it out. Does anyone know if this is actually possible, and how to do so?
 
Last edited:

JohnSith373

I shouldn’t have access to this but I do
Joined
Jun 24, 2017
Messages
702
You need a certain phone system for it to work. Newer but not the latest few versions.
If you have the phone app on your MyDevice, you can to intercom/PA announcement unless your store specifically isn’t working. Using the TMSC landline or a leader signed into the MyDevice can use an extension to start the overhead announcement. Search on workbench for the extension
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2021
Messages
1,071
Our store has always had a team member run back to TSC to make the overhead announcement, and I just heard that there was a way to do so over the zebra, but we could not figure it out. Does anyone know if this is actually possible, and how to do so?
You must be a leader and signed into the phone (under the leader role) You hit 52# and call or 52, it works like that at my store. We had a new PA recently because they kept breaking.

AFAIK, The only 3 extensions that are allowed to access the PA is leader (myDevice only) the landline in TSC and the landline at Guest Service.

I've tried using the electronics phone, cash office phone, SDs office phone. Nothing lol.
 

JohnSith373

I shouldn’t have access to this but I do
Joined
Jun 24, 2017
Messages
702
You must be a leader and signed into the phone (under the leader role) You hit 52# and call or 52, it works like that at my store. We had a new PA recently because they kept breaking.

AFAIK, The only 3 extensions that are allowed to access the PA is leader (myDevice only) the landline in TSC and the landline at Guest Service.

I've tried using the electronics phone, cash office phone, SDs office phone. Nothing lol.
SD office worked at 2 small and 1 large format. I’ve tried the guest service landline but that didn’t work at a large format and the small formats don’t have a guest service landline
 

lokinix

Tech After Dark
Joined
Oct 14, 2021
Messages
321
You can do it from a handheld logged in as leader and then do it like you would on the one in the TSC. A normal TM can not do it. With that said, the handhelds don't always log leaders in as leader, it's interesting.

This was mentioned.

Our GS phone doesn't work with it, nor does our TSC. It's weird.
 

Nauzhror

Service Advocate, Formerly GSA
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
2,263
Very old thread but it actually is possible! You must be signed into the leader role (So you have to be a leader) and you just dial 52# and hit call. Taught my store that recently.
Yeah, I used to be able to do it, because anyone could sign in as a leader, but the update a while back ruined that. :(
 

MrT

Joined
May 9, 2020
Messages
1,106
You can do it from a handheld logged in as leader and then do it like you would on the one in the TSC. A normal TM can not do it. With that said, the handhelds don't always log leaders in as leader, it's interesting.

This was mentioned.

Our GS phone doesn't work with it, nor does our TSC. It's weird.
I believe there can only be so many logged in as leader so most likely there is already more leaders logged on before they get there.
 
Top