Pda Question??

Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
40
#1
Im just wondering if there is anyway you can access the desktop on the pda/pdt?? Or if you can go in the settings and change the noise? In our stores the backroom members arent allowed pda's. we only can use the big looking gun things with those bulky holsters.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
51
#3
Im just wondering if there is anyway you can access the desktop on the pda/pdt?? Or if you can go in the settings and change the noise? In our stores the backroom members arent allowed pda's. we only can use the big looking gun things with those bulky holsters.
I exclusively used the "big" PDAs (the small hand held ones are generally called LPDAs to distinguish them). If you plug them into the docking cradle at your store (this is what is used to restore/reconfigure them) you should get a popup about Microsoft Sync or something to that effect. You can use that to browse the file system. I would put a couple mp3s on there to listen to while in the freezer (you have very limited free space so make it count!)

If you hit Ctrl+O while NOT in RFApps (there may be other exceptions as well, I know it does work for sure on the toggle screen), you get a "open file" dialog, you can use that to browse the file system and open songs/applications/etc. You can open word pad and write a note! :) I recall there being a show desktop link of some kind, but I dont remember if it still works.

When you say "change the noise" do you mean use different sounds (see above) or just adjust the volume? There are volume buttons on the keyboard, you hit the blue button then the letter next to the volume icon, I want to say G or H or something over there? its on the right side of the keyboard.

The big looking gun thing in the holster, is a PDA. The reason is sound is up, because you are backstocking in the freezer.
I'm not sure how freezers come into play or how they would really affect sound in any appreciable way. Maybe its different in a larger Super freezer, but there wasn't really echo if that's what you're saying?
 

Formina Sage💯

Probably still better than you at the stacker
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
1,645
#5
I know a couple secret menus for the PDA's but I have to have one in front of me, I can't name the button combinations off the top of my head. They don't do anything terribly exciting though.
 
OP
OP
J
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
40
#6
yeah just wondering what else you can do with the pda's. my gun today which i hide because its faster than others and is newer actually broke :( !!!! i was scanning some items and the dam thing said i did some fatal error and the screen turned white!!! It wont reset or anything which pisses me off. It doesnt even respond. I dont know what the problem is but now im stuck with going up to tsc and hoping that i get a decent one!
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2011
Messages
143
#7
Since the recent system upgrade we had to send out four PDAs for service. The installing of the upgrade literally killed them!:senile:
 
OP
OP
J
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
40
#9
our stores are different. If something goes wrong with the pdas they just wont give them out! theyd rather us be short than to spend the money! so i been told.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
60
#13
If you need to do a hard reset on the PDA, you can do it multiple ways. The first way is to do so graphically, which is to log out completely and then click on "Device Diagnostic" or something. Then click on the last option, which should be a total device reset. The PHYSICAL way to do it, which variably works or doesn't depending on whether the PDA battery/dock is damaged, is to pull out the battery half way and hold the power&trigger button.

If this doesn't reset it, and the yellow light blinks, it's not going to work. Then you have to kind of jimmy with the battery, holding the trigger and power button while pushing the battery in somehow (I do it against my stomach) to try and enter...I think it's IPA mode? Either way, that's the second way to do a hard reset.
 
OP
OP
J
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
40
#14
Yeah thanks! i cant log out or anything! I turn the pda on and it just displays a white screen! Its not responsive to any buttons at all! Tomorrow im going to try the other option you gave me which was to pull the battery halfway out and to hold the trigger and power button. Thanks!!
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
78
#15
I wouldn't be surprised if it had something to do with the new software rollout, seems HQ really butchered this one. I just sent out two bricked PDA's. I can't believe that there isn't the ability to do a bit more in the store. It looks like the upgrade just got butchered, I can't believe there is no way to put it in a recovery type mode that the PC would recognize it in. And for the person hiding PDA's, good thing you don't work at my store, I hunt people down that do that. ;)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
60
#16
I agree with you Squid, if I caught someone hiding a PDA in my store they'd be on fast track for a write up AND coaching. Also, I have managed to entirely avoid sending "bricked" PDA's "in for repair", because most often the hard reset fixes them.

What you can do as well that uses the same method as the "hard reset" is to do the trigger and power button WHILE it's on the dock to ENTIRELY RESET the installed software. This fixes them if the update bricks them as well. There should be a manual for them available for team leads or ETL's in your store, please read it.
 
OP
OP
J
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
40
#17
Well I decided to hide a pda because they never have any up at tsc and they make me go looking for one which i dont understand!! They give them out to the people who dont need them! They should hold a minimum amount of pdas for the backroom. I tend to get my work done with the faster pdas. The older ones lagg and ill be sitting there for awhile! The newer ones make a slightly different beep than the others
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
60
#18
It has nothing to do with "older" or "Newer". Typically the PDA's are not reset for days, weeks, or months at a time. If you've ever tried to keep your PC on for this long, you would notice the same thing happening. Typically the hard reset I described fixes these "issues" and I get myself a working PDA. Regardless: You do not hide PDA's. Best Practice dictates that all PDA's must be kept in TSC and turned in likewise once their use is completed, and IF YOU DO truly absolutely "need" a PDA for your job (planogram set, for example), then just tell management you need one and wait. It's win/win, as you get to sit and collect money in the meanwhile.

But never, ever, EVER, hide a PDA. It WILL get you in trouble.
 
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
51
#19
It has nothing to do with "older" or "Newer". Typically the PDA's are not reset for days, weeks, or months at a time. If you've ever tried to keep your PC on for this long, you would notice the same thing happening. Typically the hard reset I described fixes these "issues" and I get myself a working PDA. Regardless: You do not hide PDA's. Best Practice dictates that all PDA's must be kept in TSC and turned in likewise once their use is completed, and IF YOU DO truly absolutely "need" a PDA for your job (planogram set, for example), then just tell management you need one and wait. It's win/win, as you get to sit and collect money in the meanwhile.

But never, ever, EVER, hide a PDA. It WILL get you in trouble.
Actually there are two slightly different models. The newer one has an external speaker on the back just above the trigger and it also has working toggle/logout buttons (the green/red little buttons on the front of the pda). The newer ones are noticeably more responsive in my experience.
 

Formina Sage💯

Probably still better than you at the stacker
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
1,645
#20
yep the old ones are the MC9060 and the new ones are MC9090. The old ones, you have to press Esc to toggle and the new ones use the green dot button.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
162
#21
At my store, a lot of people hide PDAs/LPDAs, especially Team Leaders. I'd like to see a TL try to coach me about hiding one, when I know they hide 3 or 4 at time, for their TMs.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
396
#22
At my store, a lot of people hide PDAs/LPDAs, especially Team Leaders. I'd like to see a TL try to coach me about hiding one, when I know they hide 3 or 4 at time, for their TMs.
Our BR TL grabs them for his team when he arrives. It is then his team's responsibility to sign them out. We have a new system in place. If you find a PDA that is not signed out you get a $5 gift card. I don't now how many gift cards they've given out. We're overnights and sometimes I'll find one the closing team did not return. (Those count, too.)
 

Rock Lobster

Executive Team Leader
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Jun 11, 2011
Messages
1,387
#23
Actually there are two slightly different models. The newer one has an external speaker on the back just above the trigger and it also has working toggle/logout buttons (the green/red little buttons on the front of the pda). The newer ones are noticeably more responsive in my experience.
I believe that the easiest way to tell the difference is that the older ones have five dots just above the screen, while the newer ones have three... They also cold boot differently!
 

Formina Sage💯

Probably still better than you at the stacker
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
1,645
#24
I only hide my holster because I hate struggling to adjust the straps on them
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
25,245
#25
Also, to do a cold reboot is to remove battery & hold the power button down for 30 seconds. Then put the battery back in.
On slow poke PDA's, go to your mobile cradle & reboot unit from there.
 
OP
OP
J
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
40
#26
Wow I did that reboot with the battery halfway out and it reset!!!!!! Thank you soooo much!!! Finally fixed my gun im so happy :)
 
OP
OP
J
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
40
#27
Also today i tried the ctrl circle while not in rf apps and the menu came up like you said! I didnt find any use for it. But i did find out how to get the internet. It wont work sadly. I get a dns error. Is that the only thing you can do with the pda??
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
78
#28
I'll have to try that reset in the cradle. I'd do anything to avoid sending those things out. Looks like some of you guys are in stores with pretty bad Equipment control, I was in a store like that, then I fixed it. I like to say it was for the Team, but it was really for myself. Haha. If you have Team Leads and the like breaking rules they expect TM's to follow, challenge them, I had the same issue at my store with the Equipment. When I started challenging the Leadership things got much better, when they started following the rules and pushing them, the rest of the team did. Being only a TM, having the Leadership on my side has helped out quite a bit, threats of coaching and stuff seemed to sink in after awhile.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
60
#29
Um, before you try the reset in the cradle, I need to emphasize that it is NOT A QUICK RESET. It's a full reset and reinstall that takes forever-and-a-half to do. You should find and/or check your PDA instruction manual for more information on how to do this, as it has been a long time since I did it (our PDA's are working or physically broken in half).
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
78
#31
Well I have no other option, the software on the PDA's won't load at all. I'm in school for IT, so I know what these things mean, I am not just screwing around. I don't however know how to do a full reinstall at the store level, can my mobile support handle that? I attempted to try the cradle reset, but it would load into that mode, I forget the acronym now, but immediately attempt to boot again. I could not get it to stay in that mode. All the information on the PDA's is so amateurish, even the CSC just said to send them in. I know that a full reinstall will take awhile, but it will take a heck of a lot less time than going through all the hoops that exist at my store to get ANYTHING sent in quickly.
 

Formina Sage💯

Probably still better than you at the stacker
Staff member
Administrator
Joined
May 15, 2011
Messages
1,645
#32
That's what My mobile support does, it reloads the pda with the latest os from a repo. everytime HQ rolls out a software update, they push an updated OS to this repo. and the acronym you are looking for is IPL mode. I forget what it is but there's a certain key combo you can use to get it into IPL when you reboot.
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
78
#34
That's what My mobile support does, it reloads the pda with the latest os from a repo. everytime HQ rolls out a software update, they push an updated OS to this repo. and the acronym you are looking for is IPL mode. I forget what it is but there's a certain key combo you can use to get it into IPL when you reboot.
Thats what I figured, I knew that for My mobile support to do what it did, it had to put the PDA into some mode. However, given that the PDA won't even boot, that mode could not be loaded up, and I needed to know how to do it manually. Why can't the CSC just tell me that?

Hardlinesmaster, isn;t 1-9 Power for the LPDA's?
 

Pettjm54

Sales floor TL
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
195
#36
I agree. The new update was horrible. It bricked two PDAs and 3 access points in my Pfresh walk ins.
Anyway, my store has a very poor equipment control problem.(who doesn't) we have an open TSC not a closed one so team members come and go as they please. The locker is usually unlocked so walks and PDAs just disappear. Some sign out most don't. What ways have you all solved or helped this issue? ( I love the gift card idea )
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2011
Messages
78
#38
IPL Mode was a no go, got it into that mode, and got the PC to recognize the device, but not My mobile support. BTW, 9-1-Power is only LPDA's like I thought. IPL Mode on the PDA's is a restart holding the Power-Trigger and putting in the battery, letting go of power and docking while still holding the Trigger.
 

Pettjm54

Sales floor TL
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
195
#41
Lock it up with login sheet & gstl/lod/hr access to it. Then have your etl's/tl's enforce bp! We did & it is working finally!
I would loveto assist in enforcing BP but my ETLs stay with it for about a week and then lose patience. Good example is the fixture room.. The BR TL did an ON and totally cleaned it. The room was then locked with access to only ETLs. It was constantly a pain to open the door all the time so the ETLs lost their patience and the room is now a mess again.
 
Top