Archived Target New Cashier Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I just got hired on part time as a cashier and I have orientation tomorrow. I have been doing quite a bit of reading on policy and how to use the cash register, but I still have some questions if anyone is willing to answer them for me. From what it seems I shouldn't expect too much from training, but the people on this site are helpful! :)

Is it alright if I take a notebook to orientation tomorrow and take notes? I've been a very organized student for a long time, and I know taking notes really helps me learn things quickly - but I don't want to do something I shouldn't.

Does this manual contain correct information about the cash register? Its really short and doesn't contain that much information, but I still like to have it at home to glance over before I jump in.

For dress code - looked like it varies a bit based on store. How would your store feel about the following: I see solid color pants (preferably khaki) is policy - but do they care what color khaki? Does it have to be dressier khaki pants or is something like this OK?
Can you wear darker red? I don't really like bright red, but of course I don't mind buying a couple things. But I don't want to own a ton of tops I will never wear again. Is this OK?
How about this one?
Skirts are allowed - also khaki preferred? And how do they feel at your store about carpi pants?

Also, how long in advance do they set the schedule?

What I am most worried about for cashiering is people trying to trick me into taking fake coupons/making me lose money for the company. Is there a way to be sure the coupon is real without wasting so much time your score is poor?

Sorry about such a long post, but I really do appreciate any help!

Have a nice night!

The manual is just like the training: short, leaving you wanting to know more.
You shouldn't be taking that home as it is considered working off the clock, a term-able offense.