Archived Interns...mixed feelings.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I understand it's a way to get new, young talent in the door. But as a SrTL it really grinds my gears that they bring in outsiders to be trained by our teams to eventually take a job that they could be grooming me for but instead they give all this training and attention to some pretentious jack that I have to spend my day training. Anyone else feel way?

I'm an intern. I can see where you're coming from. I try my best to be humble. I know how quickly first impressions can go sour especially with the way Target hires ETLs.

Meh, happens every summer. Our newbie is 19. Going to be an ETL, has a good attitude so best of wishes. Some in the past have been pretentious but retail isnt for everyone so eventually the ones worthy will make it. I admire target for creating jobs and accepting fresh out of college kids with open arms.

I understand it's a way to get new, young talent in the door. But as a SrTL it really grinds my gears that they bring in outsiders to be trained by our teams to eventually take a job that they could be grooming me for but instead they give all this training and attention to some pretentious jack that I have to spend my day training. Anyone else feel way?
You've got a better chance from outside the store from what most report. If that's your goal either get with your stl/dtl and find a way or get out and become the intern soaking up the attention.

A lot of the interns in my area are clique-ish. They don't interact much with the team. TMs see that and it doesn't make a favorable impression. We're nervous about fitting in too but I try my best to introduce myself and build rapport with as many tm's as I can.

A lot of the interns in my area are clique-ish. They don't interact much with the team. TMs see that and it doesn't make a favorable impression. We're nervous about fitting in too but I try my best to introduce myself and build rapport with as many tm's as I can.