Archived Questions about Cross-training and Primary Work Center

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello! I have been working at Target for about 3 months now. I was hired in as a cashier with the intent of them moving me to Guest Services because of my certification in customer service. Well, I did just cashiering for a while and then they finally trained me at the Service Desk.. I love the service desk so much more and I'm so much better at it than cashiering because I'm active and able to do so many more thing. Well, I get scheduled there some and cashiering some which is cool. Yesterday I talked to HR about getting trained on Sales Floor because it would fill in all of the gaps of everything that I don't know about the store. They said yeah I could do it and she said she would get with the Clerical to put me on the list... Well, I have a couple of questions..

1. When I get trained over there, will I be scheduled in Cashiering, Service Desk, and Sales Floor? Or will it just be Cashiering and Service desk. I want it to be switched up so I can become really good at everything I do. HR said that since I am keyed in the system as guest services as my primary workplace, I have to spend 51% of my time up there. Does that mean the other 49% can be elsewhere?

2. If I really enjoy sales floor and everything, would it be possible to move there permanently? How would I go about doing this? The same goes for service desk. How could I be scheduled on service desk primarily? I checked eHR and it said my primary work center is cashier. How can I get that changed to either service desk or sales floor eventually if I wanted to pursue that?