Archived How to go about telling them I don't want to do something?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I've been at Target for about a year now as an overnight stock team member. I get along with my TL's and ETL, I'm pretty sure they like me, I stay late when asked etc. Anyway, my ETL comes up to me the other day and said they're gonna put me on presentation. It kind of caught me off guard so I just said okay and didn't think much of it.

But I don't want to do Presentation. I did it once or twice when I first started here and hated it. They never put me on it again after November.

So my question is..do you guys think if I tell them I don't want to do it, respectfully and open, they'll listen? They're hiring here and there is no reason they can't put someone else on that shift.

I like what I do, I like my routine and quite frankly I do not like the people who do presentation. Plus I'm not good with all that setting shelves nonsense etc.

What do you guys think? What advice can you give? How should I go about this? I want to talk to my TL and say I don't wanna do it, but I don't wanna make waves. Ugh help

Just tell them you aren't comfortable doing that, and if they still schedule you for it?

Call out.

Explain to your leaders that you were taken off guard, and you really like flow and don't want to do POG. I would leave out the part about not liking that team. Also, if you have already been scheduled for POG, you should probably work it since you said you would, even though you really didn't want to.