Archived New team member questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I'm new to target and I just had my first full day of work on Friday 9/25. I first did some online quizzes for a few hours that had nothing to do with my position as a cashier. Then I was sent to watch a cashier for 10 minutes and then I was put to work on my own cash register. I received basically no training and had to ask a team member for help every 5 minutes, is this normal?
On my "training" paper schedule, I was scheduled to work again next Saturday 8/2 (over an entire week later). But I was called the following day on 9/26 and asked why I wasn't at work. Turns out they entered my schedule incorrectly but I agreed to come in for a full day's work anyway.
Well today, Sunday 9/27, they call me at 9 am asking if I can work today but I told them could not as I had plans and apologized. I'm also a full time student at college and really needed today for completing homework and such. I'm just wondering if it was bad for me to say I couldn't come into work today? Could they fire me for this because I'm on the 90 day probation period? Am I going to have to expect them to call me into work everyday? I would like to have at least a little free time..
I was hired as a part-time cashier. Any tips for a target newbie are appreciated! Thanks!

Welcome to the red & white asylum.
You can NOT be disciplined for refusing a shift you weren't scheduled for.
If they call & ask you to come in for future shifts, always answer & tell them you have a conflict if you're unable to come in. If you're able to come in occasionally, they'll appreciate it but you don't have to do it EVERY SINGLE TIME unless you're desperate for hours.
I'd double-check your training schedule with HR to avoid missing any other shifts.
Inadequate training? Sadly, that's become Target's SOP these days.

If they were asking you if you could come in and you couldn't, it's not a problem.