Archived team leaders and avability questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm interested in becoming a team leader after this semester is over, but the problem is that I'm a college student and I was wondering what the availability standards for team leaders is? Could I still become a team leader with two or even three days of closed availability? I want to become a soft lines team leader if it matters. also my store has no open soft lines team leader positions will I have to transfer? I've been working at Target for almost nine months is that enough experience to become a team leader? Sorry for the crazy amount of questions!

You pretty much need open availability to be a TL at Target. You might get away with having one day during the week that's unavailable but other than that I doubt they would consider you.

All of our TLs rotate weekends so they have a set day off during the week and that's it.

It also depends on what your store's leadership team is made up of. If your workcenter (Softlines, in your case) has a few open availability TL's then they might be more lenient with your availability. I would say that unless you manage to work out a situation with your leadership where you take all of your classes on one or two days and work the remaining 5, I think working as a TL with a full course load would be very difficult. That is unless you are taking online classes, of course.

First thing you have to do is tell them you are interested in being developed. They will work with you on that, give you more responsibility, etc. When they feel you are ready, they will put you to interviews. If you pass, you will be put on the bench and when TL positions come up at yours or nearby stores, you will be considered for it.