Archived Newly Hired ETL

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone! I just recently got hired on as an ETL and am very excited. I have over 10 years retail management experience with over 3 in Big Box stores. Looking forward to working for Target. Still working on my degree as I am still with the Army Reserves. That has been my primary focus the last 10 years.

I am looking for any advice, suggestions and some good vibes before I head to orientation and Business College this coming Monday.

What is Business College going to be like? A lot of new graduates? ETLs from many districts all together? How many people do they put through Business a college at once?

Thanks for answering my questions and for the advice. See you around.

Just understand that whatever job description they advertised to you to get you hired is completely different from what you're actually going to be expected to do :D. Good luck!

Just understand that whatever job description they advertised to you to get you hired is completely different from what you're actually going to be expected to do :D. Good luck!

aye it's more like herding a bunch of cats while managing the expectations coming from a bunch of delusional rocks

From another thread:
The job is not bad if you like retail and plan on making a career out of it. It's also not bad to have it on your resume for later employment opportunities. Several ETLs love it and some don't. I didn't like where the company was and where it was going. It went down hill since 2003 ( when I was a TM before college).

ETL didn't fit with my life style. I enjoy weekends off and eating dinner every night with my wife and kids. Also spending time coaching and watching local sports. As an overnight ETL-Log of a AA+ volume store I didn't have the work/life balance I needed. And their benefits weren't what we were used to.